Umiushi

Diary Entries

Dance Moms & Life Lessons

May 8th, 2023

I'll be the first to admit it– I am about 12 years late to Dance Moms– despite this, I have been treating it as though the episodes are new & never seen before. In addition to this, I have a habit of inheriting traits from medias I consume constantly.
Obviously, I have quickly become fixated on the show. From the drama, to the suspense, the cute outfits & ugly ones, and the emotional ups and downs, I've become drawn in! However.. my fixation also means that I have started to compare day to day life to situations in the show.
In some cases, this does more harm than good. In others, its the complete opposite. For example, I've learned from Christi to always stand up for what you believe in & your friends, even if they can't always stand up for you. Kelly has made it clear that sometimes, you have to do what you think will be beneficial for those you love in general, & not just in the moment.
In the end, all I can say is that I just love this show!!! Yes, theres, horrible arguments that shouldn't ever happen between adults, but its also incredibly scripted. Its kind of fun to guess what is scripted and what is not.